little and often

drawing, Dye/Paint/Stitch, life drawing, Studio practise
I have always thought Art is an academic subject with research skills being key. I would say 90% of a project is about researching and refining ideas and thoughts into something visual. With 10% of the time realising the final pieces. The hard work lies in research.
So as I go about finishing some big cloth paintings ready for exhibition next year, I am also taking the opportunity to draw and read and experiment with some new creative experiences;

 I decided to put myself on the other end of the gaze this week and experience the other side of life drawing by posing as the life model. It’s a very liberating experience. I got to choose my own poses (15 in total) and so I was able to combine my knowledge of sports stretches with creating poses which would make interesting or challenging drawings…almost like using my body as a 3d drawing itself and combining my interest in movement (walking, swimming, Pilates) with my art.
I was fascinated by my ability to shut off in the pose, hold completely still and yet allow my mind to wander or focus, to zone out of the room. It made me reflect on how our bodies (which society normally dictates we cover or save for our significant others) are just shells and out true selves are the inner spirit.  (Hmmm a seed of an idea there to add to the pot)
 This week has been a typical “little and often” approach to creating, here is how it panned out:
Thurs -Drawing class – self portrait/features this week using a mirror, i’m not sure I really enjoyed looking at myself that closely!
Sat – I read and copied some exercises from a drawing book I’d borrowed from the library before returning it.
Sun – A blissful day of mixing dye and adding more layers of dye and batik resist to my large cloth paintings. Leftover dyes were used to vat-dye calico in my bath.
Mon – Admin for the CQ west exhibition at Harbour house next year, entry forms and artist statements. http://www.contemporaryquilterswest.org/
Tues – Life modelling & drawing.
Wed – Rinsed out dyeing